Maharashtra  Road Tax: RTO Registration Charges

Maharashtra is the third-largest state in India by area and has the largest road network in the country. From beautiful beaches to misty hill stations, Maharashtra has a lot to offer. As per the Maharashtra Motor Vehicles Act of 1958, if you are a citizen of Maharashtra and want to take your private vehicle on roads, you are liable to pay the Maharashtra Road Tax.

By paying the road tax in Maharashtra, you can drive all across the state for 15 years. In Maharashtra, the road tax levied on two-wheelers, four-wheelers, and commercial vehicles varies on various factors. It is mandatory to pay a one-time road tax when you buy a vehicle. It aids the state government in covering the costs of road maintenance and infrastructural development.

Generally, the state Road Transport Corporation or Road Transport Authority is responsible for collecting road tax. However, one can also visit their state RTO office to make the payment of the road tax. Maharashtra has a total of 55 RTOs that issue driver’s licenses, RC, assign RTO codes to vehicles post registration, Renew license/RC, and more. Continue to read more.

Registration ChargesRs. 600 – For all cars
Hypothecation ChargesRs. 1,500 – If the car is purchased on a loan
Number Plate ChargesRs. 230 – 400 – Same for HSRP Number Plate
Parking Fee/State Development ChargesRs. 2,000 – MCD Parking Fees for cars under Rs. 4 Lakh
Rs. 4,000 – MCD Parking Fees for cars above Rs. 4 Lakh
Temporary Registration ChargesRs. 1,200 – 1,500 – Temporary Registration for up to 1 month
Road Tax ChargesCars under Rs. 10.0 Lakh: CNG – 7%, Petrol – 11%, Diesel – 13%
Cars between Rs. 10.0 – 20.0 Lakh: Petrol – 12%, Diesel – 14%
Cars above Rs. 20.0 Lakh: Petrol – 13%, Diesel – 15%
If the car is purchased under the Company Name, Road Tax is above 20%
FasTag ChargesRs. 500 FasTag fees payable on the purchase of the vehicle

Road Tax in Maharashtra for Two-Wheelers

CategoryPercentage of Road TaxMinimum Tax (Rs)
Motorcycles with engine capacity below 99 cc10%1,500
Motorcycles with engine capacity between 99 and 299 cc11%1,500
Motorcycles with engine capacity above 299 cc12%1,500

Road tax in Maharashtra for Three-Wheelers

CategoryRoad Tax (Rs)
Vehicles permitted to carry 2 passengers11,000
Vehicles permitted to carry 3 passengers13,200
Vehicles permitted to carry 4 passengers17,600
Vehicles permitted to carry 5 passengers22,000
Vehicles permitted to carry 6 passengers26,400

Road tax in Maharashtra for Four Wheelers

CategoryPercentage of Road Tax
LPG or CNG vehicles
– Vehicle cost up to Rs. 10 lakhs7%
– Vehicle costs between Rs. 10 and Rs. 20 lakhs8%
– Vehicle cost above Rs. 20 lakhs9%
Petrol Cars
– Vehicle cost up to Rs. 10 lakhs11%
– Vehicle costs between Rs. 10 and Rs. 20 lakhs12%
– Vehicle cost above Rs. 20 lakhs13%
Diesel Cars
– Vehicle cost up to Rs. 10 lakhs13%
– Vehicle costs between Rs. 10 and Rs. 20 lakhs14%
– Vehicle cost above Rs. 20 lakhs15%

Check Complete Road Tax for Other State Vehicles in India

StateRoad Tax Charges
Andhra PradeshLink to Road Tax Charges
Arunachal PradeshLink to Road Tax Charges
AssamLink to Road Tax Charges
BiharLink to Road Tax Charges
ChhattisgarhLink to Road Tax Charges
GoaLink to Road Tax Charges
GujaratLink to Road Tax Charges
HaryanaLink to Road Tax Charges
Himachal PradeshLink to Road Tax Charges
JharkhandLink to Road Tax Charges
KarnatakaLink to Road Tax Charges
KeralaLink to Road Tax Charges
Madhya PradeshLink to Road Tax Charges
MaharashtraLink to Road Tax Charges
ManipurLink to Road Tax Charges
MeghalayaLink to Road Tax Charges
MizoramLink to Road Tax Charges
NagalandLink to Road Tax Charges
OdishaLink to Road Tax Charges
PunjabLink to Road Tax Charges
RajasthanLink to Road Tax Charges
SikkimLink to Road Tax Charges
Tamil NaduLink to Road Tax Charges
TelanganaLink to Road Tax Charges
TripuraLink to Road Tax Charges
Uttar PradeshLink to Road Tax Charges
UttarakhandLink to Road Tax Charges
West BengalLink to Road Tax Charges
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsLink to Road Tax Charges
ChandigarhLink to Road Tax Charges
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and DiuLink to Road Tax Charges
LakshadweepLink to Road Tax Charges
DelhiLink to Road Tax Charges
PuducherryLink to Road Tax Charges

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *