Bihar Road Tax: Car RTO Registration Charges

Known for being a sacred place, the transport infrastructure in Bihar is growing day by day. The state’s road connectivity is being constantly developed and improved. The funds required for the upkeep are generated through taxpayers in the form of road tax. Paying road tax is a crucial aspect of vehicle ownership in the state. The road tax rates in Bihar depend on various parameters such as the age of the vehicle, make and model, vehicle type, weight, seating and engine capacity, etc.

Bihar has a well-organized Regional Transport Office (RTO) system in place that is responsible for collecting road tax. In addition to that, Bihar RTO also oversees operations like issuing driver’s licenses, granting permits, providing RCs, controlling pollution, and enforcing road safety laws within the region. With over 42 RTOs, the Bihar transport department allocated them distinctive RTO codes.

Continue reading to have a deeper understanding of Bihar road tax structure and functions of the RTO and RTO codes.

Registration ChargesRs. 600 – For all cars
Hypothecation ChargesRs. 1,500 – If the car is purchased on a loan
Number Plate ChargesRs. 230 – 400 – Same for HSRP Number Plate
Parking Fee/State Development ChargesRs. 2,000 – MCD Parking Fees for cars under Rs. 4 Lakh Rs. 4,000 – MCD Parking Fees for cars above Rs. 4 Lakh (Applicable in some States)
Temporary Registration ChargesRs. 1,200 – 1,500 – Temporary Registration for up to 1 month
Road Tax Charges Cars under Rs. 8.0 Lakh: 9% Cars between Rs. 8.0 – 15.0 Lakh: 10% Cars above Rs. 15.0 Lakh: 12%
FasTag ChargesRs. 600 FasTag fees payable on purchase of the vehicle

Road Tax in Bihar for Two-Wheelers

Ex-Showroom Price RangeTax Rate
Up to ₹1 Lakh8%
₹1 Lakh to ₹8 Lakhs9%
₹8 Lakhs to ₹15 Lakhs10%
Above ₹15 Lakhs12%

For example, if the ex-showroom price of your two-wheeler is ₹50,000, the road tax would be 8% of ₹50,000, which equals ₹4,000.

Road Tax in Bihar for Four-Wheelers

Ex-Showroom Price RangeTax Rate
Up to ₹1 Lakh8%
₹1 Lakh to ₹8 Lakhs9%
₹8 Lakhs to ₹15 Lakhs10%
Above ₹15 Lakhs12%

For example, if the ex-showroom price of your four-wheeler is ₹5 Lakhs, the road tax would be 9% of ₹5 Lakhs, which equals ₹45,000.

Road Tax for Commercial Vehicles in Bihar

Price Range of the VehicleRoad Tax Imposed
Less than Rs. 1 Lakh8% on total cost
Rs. 1 Lakh – Rs. 8 Lakhs9% on total cost
Rs. 8 Lakhs – Rs. 15 Lakhs10% on total cost
Above Rs. 15 Lakhs12% on total cost

For bigger commercial vehicles 

Seating CapacityOrdinary VehicleSemi-Deluxe VehicleDeluxe VehicleLuxury Vehicle
13 – 26 seatsRs. 550/seatRs. 675/seatRs. 785/seatRs. 1300/seat
27 – 32 seatsRs. 600/seatRs. 750/seatRs. 860/seatRs. 1300/seat
33 seats or moreRs. 700/seatRs. 870/seatRs. 1025/seatRs. 1300/seat

Penalty for Non-payment of Road Tax in Bihar

Penalty DurationPenalty Amount
After 15 days but within 30 days25% of the total tax amount
After 30 days but within 60 days50% of the total tax amount
After 60 days but within 90 daysEquivalent to the total tax amount
Beyond 90 daysDouble the total tax amount

Check Complete Road Tax for Other State Vehicles in India

StateRoad Tax Charges
Andhra PradeshLink to Road Tax Charges
Arunachal PradeshLink to Road Tax Charges
AssamLink to Road Tax Charges
BiharLink to Road Tax Charges
ChhattisgarhLink to Road Tax Charges
GoaLink to Road Tax Charges
GujaratLink to Road Tax Charges
HaryanaLink to Road Tax Charges
Himachal PradeshLink to Road Tax Charges
JharkhandLink to Road Tax Charges
KarnatakaLink to Road Tax Charges
KeralaLink to Road Tax Charges
Madhya PradeshLink to Road Tax Charges
MaharashtraLink to Road Tax Charges
ManipurLink to Road Tax Charges
MeghalayaLink to Road Tax Charges
MizoramLink to Road Tax Charges
NagalandLink to Road Tax Charges
OdishaLink to Road Tax Charges
PunjabLink to Road Tax Charges
RajasthanLink to Road Tax Charges
SikkimLink to Road Tax Charges
Tamil NaduLink to Road Tax Charges
TelanganaLink to Road Tax Charges
TripuraLink to Road Tax Charges
Uttar PradeshLink to Road Tax Charges
UttarakhandLink to Road Tax Charges
West BengalLink to Road Tax Charges
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsLink to Road Tax Charges
ChandigarhLink to Road Tax Charges
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and DiuLink to Road Tax Charges
LakshadweepLink to Road Tax Charges
DelhiLink to Road Tax Charges
PuducherryLink to Road Tax Charges

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *