As per the revised rules, the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways (MoRTH) has made High-Security Registration Plate compulsory for all types of vehicles. For now, new vehicles purchased after 1 April 2019 are required to have these plates installed at the time of purchase, while old vehicles are required to register for HSRP plates. Continue reading to get more details about High-Security Number Plate.

High-Security Number Plate- Introduction

High-Security Registration Plates (HSRP) are number plates fixed onto the vehicle. These number plates are made of aluminum, and have a hot-stamped chromium-based symbol of Ashoka Chakra, with a 10-digit permanent identification number and letter ‘IND’ carved on the plate. The usage of HSRP plates helps in minimizing the risk of vehicles getting stolen through vehicle tracking and monitoring features.

Features of High-Security Number Plate

The following are the features of HSRP Plates:

  • HSRP plates provide guaranteed life of five years
  • HSRP plates are electronically linked to the vehicles after registration. 
  • HSRP plates consist of important information such as car details, registration number, chassis number, registering authority, engine number, etc., and are stored in a central database 
  • HSRP reduces the chances of counterfeits
  • HSRP number plates have a unified font and style, making them more visible and comprehensible.
  • The plates consist of a non-removal snap lock, which is non-reusable and cannot be replaced

HSRP number plate price

The price of the HSRP number plates is not yet restricted by the Central Government. The cost of the high-security number plate for a two-wheeler and four-wheeler is Rs.400 and Rs.1, 100, respectively. The four-wheeler vehicle owners will have to pay Rs.100 extra for getting color-coded stickers, which are compulsory.

Not getting an HSRP number plate affixed to your vehicle will cost you a fine of Rs. 5000 to Rs. 10000.

How to book HSRP online appointment?

To get an online appointment for an HSRP number plate;

  • Applicants are required to raise a request using the Book My HSRP portal. Select the ‘HSRP with Color Sticker’ option. 
  • Enter mandatory details like engine number, chassis number, registration number, and vehicle registration state. 
  • Enter the captcha code and hit the ‘Click Here’ option.
  • After that, select the preferred fitment location and book the appointment slot as per your availability. 
  • Complete the process by paying the registration fee. 
  • A copy of the receipt must be downloaded for verification purposes.

Note: Keep in mind that for now, online HSRP-related services are only available in a few states. Vehicles bought/registered in Delhi or Uttar Pradesh can use the online portal to apply for HSRP.

High-Security Number Plate HSRP Registration Process

The following are the steps to register for an HSRP number plate:

  • Visit the nearest Regional Transport Office or authorized automobile dealer
  • Apply for the HSRP registration process
  • Provide mandatory details like chassis number, vehicle number, engine, fuel type, contact number, address, etc.
  • Submit the application form with the required registration fee.

The HSRP number plate is provided only after the successful verification of the documents.

Required Details to do HSRP number plate Registration

To register for the HSRP number plate, applicants are only required to provide

  • Vehicle number
  • Chassis number
  • Engine number
  • Vehicle owner’s address
  • Contact number
  • Fuel type details

How to Check the HSRP number plate application status?

Follow the steps given below to track the status of your HSRP application online:

  • Visit the Book My HSRP portal.
  • On the homepage, click on the ‘Track Your Order’ option.
  • Fill in the details like your order number and vehicle registration number.
  • Enter the captcha code shown on your window screen.
  • Now, click on search butter to get the status of your HSRP number plate.

Difference between normal plates and HSRP number plate

The following table shows the points that make HSRP number plates different from normal number plates:

HSRP Number PlateNormal Number Plate
Tamper-proofTamper-proof aluminum number platesNo Tamper-proof number plate
Security Lockwith non-reusable security lock
Ashoka ChakraChromium-based Ashoka Chakra stampedNo Ashoka Chakra stamped on the plate
on the plate
Laser-coded PINAffixed for scanningDoes not come with any PIN
Font Size and StyleUnified font size and styleStyles and fonts can be customized
Color-coded StickerColor-coded stickers for easyNo color-coded sticker is affixed
identification of the fuel type

High-Security Number Plate Maharashtra Registration Process

To register for the HSRP number plate in Maharashtra, follow the steps given below:

  • Visit the nearest RTO office in Maharashtra
  • Apply for the HSRP number plate registration process
  • Provide relevant details of the vehicle
  • Pay registration fees to complete the registration process

The HSRP number plate will be provided after the successful verification of the documents.

High-Security Number Plate Delhi & Uttar Pradesh Registration Process

Register for the HSRP number plate in Delhi & UP by following the below-mentioned steps:

  • Visit Book My HSRP website.
  • Click on the ‘HSRP with Color Sticker’ option. 
  • Fill in mandatory details. Enter the captcha code and press the ‘Click Here’ option.
  • Next, select the fitment location/center and book the appointment slot. 
  • Complete the registration process by paying the registration fee.

High-Security Number Plate Karnataka Registration Process

The following are the steps to register for an HSRP number plate in Karnataka:

  • Visit the nearest RTO of the Karnataka Transport Department
  • Register for the HSRP number plate
  • Furnish mandatory documents related to the vehicle
  • Pay the registration fees at the end.
  • Following this, the HSRP number plate will be delivered only after the successful verification process.

Get Your HSRP Here for Any State in India

State NameChallan List
Arunachal PradeshClick here
Uttar PradeshClick here
AssamClick here
BiharClick here
ChhattisgarhClick here
GoaClick here
GujaratClick here
HaryanaClick here
Himachal PradeshClick here
JharkhandClick here
KarnatakaClick here
KeralaClick here
Madhya PradeshClick here
MaharashtraClick here
ManipurClick here
MeghalayaClick here
MizoramClick here
NagalandClick here
OdishaClick here
PunjabClick here
RajasthanClick here
SikkimClick here
Tamil NaduClick here
TelanganaClick here
TripuraClick here
UttarakhandClick here
West BengalClick here
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsClick here
ChandigarhClick here
Daman & DiuClick here
Jammu and KashmirClick here
LadakhClick here
LakshadweepClick here
PuducherryClick here

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *